FINAL APPROVED

Advisory Board on Respiratory Therapy Minutes January 30, 2018

The Advisory Board on Respiratory Therapy met on Tuesday, January 30, 2018 at 1:00 p.m. at the Department of Health Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland, Suite 201, Drive, Henrico, VA.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Daniel Rowley, RRT, Chair

Lois Rowland, RRT Bruce Rubin, MD Sherry Compton, RRT

MEMBERS ABSENT: Hollee Freeman, PhD

STAFF PRESENT: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director

Alan Heaberlin, Deputy Director for Licensure Elaine Yeatts, DHP Senior Policy Analyst Colanthia Morton Opher, Operations Manager

Denise Mason, Licensing Specialist

GUESTS PRESENT: There was no public comment.

Call TO ORDER

Dan Rowley called the meeting to order at 1:05 p.m.

EMERGENCY EGRESS PROCEDURES

Mr. Heaberlin announced the Emergency Egress Procedures.

ROLL CALL

Roll was called. A quorum was declared.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF January 31, 2017

Dr. Rubin moved to approve the minutes of January 31, 2017. The motion was seconded and carried.

ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Dan Rowley moved to adopt the agenda. The motion was seconded and carried.

FINAL APPROVED

PUBLIC COMMENT ON AGENDA ITEMS

There was no public comment.

NEW BUSINESS

1. Legislative Update

Ms. Yeatts provided a legislative update for the 2018 Session of the General Assembly. No action was required.

2. Election of Officers

Dr. Rubin nominated Sherry Compton as Chair. The motion was second and carried. Lois Rowland was nominated as Vice-Chair by Dr. Rubin. The motion was second and carried.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Dr. Harp informed the Advisory Board that they would now be receiving a \$50.00 per diem payment for attending meetings, if they are not employed by the Commonwealth.

Mr. Heaberlin stated that there are 3,803 Respiratory Therapists in Virginia holding an active license and 100 with an inactive license. In FY2018, 148 Respiratory Therapists have been licensed.

Dan Rowley asked the members to recommend colleagues they thought would be interested in serving on the Advisory Board. Dr. Harp said interested individuals would need to apply on the Governor's website.

Ms. Opher made the Advisory Board members aware that applications had to be submitted by March 15, 2018.

NEXT SCHEDULED MEETING

June 5, 2018 @ 1:00pm

ADJOURNMENT

ed at 1:48 p.m.
William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director

FINAL APPROVED

Denise Mason, Licensing Specialist